Familiar Faces Return To ESA’s Board In New Capacities

Familiar Faces Return To ESA’s Board In New Capacities
Jillian Bateman — August 25, 2022

Steve Firestone and Jamie Vos Continue to Serve Association

The Electronic Security Association recently installed Jamie Vos, President of Security Solutions Northwest and Steve Firestone, CEO Firestone Strategies Group on its new Board of Directors. 

The purpose of a director on the ESA Board is to work collectively as a team to provide good governance of ESA affairs and to set the direction to optimize the growth and performance of the organization. Each Board Member has a responsibility for ensuring strategies and policies are developed, discussed and implemented that will enable the organization to achieve its mission and vision. 

The following familiar individuals were installed into their new ESA Board of Directors roles during the ESA Annual Meeting at ESX and began their term on July 1st: 


Steve Firestone, CEO Firestone Strategies Group & Competency Director on ESA’s Board of Directors 

About Steve 

Steve Firestone, recent Morris F. Weinstock Person of the Year, began his tenure in the mid-1980s after leaving years-long positions in banking and then as a partner at an ad agency. A classified ad in the Wall Street Journal caught his eye: Commonwealth Security in Pennsylvania was looking for a vice president of sales and marketing. This background is what has made Firestone perfect for his new role as Competency Director.  

Steve has been involved with ESA for nearly a decade, serving now as a board member and executive committee member. During his tenure, he helped create the strategic planning and organizational alignment methodology format for ESA, the reorganization and launch of the Executive Management Professionals Group (EMP), and the work that has been done in making ESX the premier source of education and training at a trade show available in the industry.  

This year at ESX, Steve was awarded ESA’s Weinstock Person of the Year, the industry’s most prestigious award for his impact on the association and service to the industry. His litany of association work and volunteerism is long and illustrious. It is certainly befitting the very essence of the Morris F. Weinstock Person of the Year, an honor recognizing the lifetime achievement and service to the industry of a dedicated individual. See his acceptance speech from the 2022 Electronic Security Expo Main Stage below.  

When asked about why he’s so passionate about ESA and the industry, Steve says “The obvious answer is that the security industry and our industry’s association is one that protects lives, properties, and businesses. And we can put our heads on our pillows every night knowing that what we do every day has a significant impact on each of these. But beyond that, the more that an ESA member gets involved in the association, the more they will get back from learning from others who are faced with the same challenges and opportunities that they are.” 

“It’s such an honor to have the opportunity to appoint Steve to this critical role on the ESA Board,” says Loud. “I believe it’s important that we continue to leverage the expertise Steve brings to the table. He has shown such great leadership throughout the many years he has committed to serving ESA in the past — and I’m so very grateful to have the honor to serve with him in the years ahead.” 


Jamie Vos, President Security Solutions Northwest & Immediate Past Chairman on ESA’s Board of Directors 

About Jamie 

Jamie is the president of Security Solutions Northwest and recently served as ESA’s Chairman of the Board of Directors for the last two years. 

Understanding the value of togetherness is what led him to become involved in ESA some 16 years ago.   

Jamie’s devotion to the electronic security and life safety industry has been evident through his years of volunteering, giving back to the industry, and most recently working to ensure ESA is on a path of sustainability. In addition to his responsibilities as Chairman, he also played an active role with ESA subsidiaries, the Electronic Security Expo and Security America Reassurance Group. 

When asked about his hopes of impacting the association through his new role as its Immediate Past Chairman, Vos says “I’m delighted to continue to serve the industry in the capacity I’m called to. As a board member, I take pride in being a strategic voice as to where we as an association can be the most valuable to our members and the industry at large. As a committee member, I will fight for the best resources to accomplish the tasks which we are directed to to the very fullest of my ability.” 

 “I continue to be humbled,” says Vos. “For the leader of a little company in the small town of Bellingham, WA, to be considered for such a vital role within the association — it is nothing but humbling. I am honored to be trusted by my peers and the professional staff of ESA. It is rare in this life to get the opportunity to serve, earn a living — and have some fun along the way. How could I not be passionate about this!” 


Vos and Firestone join a distinct group of security professionals comprising the current ESA Board of Directors including: 

Integrator Chairman John Loud 2022-2024 
Integrator Director Kevin Stone 2022-2024 
Integrator Director Rick Seymour 2022-2024 
Integrator Director Melissa Brinkman 2021-2023 
Integrator Director Jeremy Bates 2021-2023 
National Company Director Doug Bassett 2022-2024 
Associate Member Director Jason Lutz 2021-2023 
Competency Director Michael Barnes 2022-2023 

Stay tuned to ESA Integrator newsletter for more news on returning board members.