David Koenig Earns Prestigious Weinstock Award

Posted: Feb 17, 2013
Categories: Archive
Comments: 0

The Electronic Security Association (ESA) announced on Wednesday that David Koenig, partner of Capital Fire & Security in Madison, Wis. is the winner of the 2012 Morris F. Weinstock Person of the Year.

For Immediate Release


ESA Media Contacts
Laurie Knox
Vice President,
Communications & Public Relations
Phone: (888) 447-1689 ext. 6825
E-mail: laurie.knox@ESAweb.org

Bob Ogle
Communications Specialist
Phone: (888) 447-1689 ext. 6813
E-mail: bob.ogle@ESAweb.org

Jeaneen Bengtson
Communications Coordinator
Phone: (888) 447-1689 ext. 6811
E-mail: jeaneen.bengtson@ESAweb.org

David Koenig Earns Prestigious Weinstock Award
Honor Announced During 2013 ESA Leadership Summit

Irving, Texas (February 21, 2013) "” The Electronic Security Association (ESA) announced on Wednesday that David Koenig, partner of Capital Fire & Security in Madison, Wis. is the winner of the 2012 Morris F. Weinstock Person of the Year. The announcement came during the association's 2013 ESA Leadership Summit in Orlando, Fla. The Weinstock award recognizes an individual for their outstanding achievement and ongoing efforts on behalf of the association.

David's dedication to the security industry, his distinguished performance for the advancement of the industry, his leadership roles on both the national and state levels, his work on several ESA committees, and his tireless support of the association have led to his selection as this year's Morris F. Weinstock Person of the Year.

In 1981, David became involved with the security industry as a central station dispatcher for Mid-Wisconsin Security. Subsequently, he has held a number of management positions in firms large and small that have provided a variety of security services including electronic access control, intrusion and fire alarm systems, uniformed security officers and patrol services, central station monitoring services and locksmithing. His experience includes sales, system installation, project management, design, budgeting, consulting and business management.

David's leadership role in association activities resulted in a well-deserved 2010 Sara E. Jackson Memorial Award. The Jackson award is named in honor of the 1950-51 ESA President Sara E. Jackson, and is presented to an ESA committee chair who has displayed outstanding leadership. Over the years, David's involvement in ESA included chairing the Budget/Audit and Investment committees as well as serving on the Executive, Education and Political Action committees.

"This great honor is a tribute to everything David has done for ESA and the security industry," said Dan Budinoff, recipient of last year's Morris F. Weinstock Person of the Year award. "I can't think of a better person to succeed me as the winner of this award."

In addition, David has served as treasurer of ESA since 2007 and continues to be instrumental in the financial stability and preservation of the association. "David's knowledge, experience, and leadership have had a significant impact on our association and the industry," said ESA President John Knox. "We are proud to honor David with this award for the countless hours he has dedicated to ESA as a volunteer leader."

In recent years, the Weinstock Award has been revealed during the Electronic Security Expo (ESX). However, this year, and going forward, the recipient of the Weinstock Award will be announced at the Leadership Summit, and the formal presentation of the award will take place at ESX. This year's ESA Weinstock/Jackson Award celebration will be held in Nashville, Tenn. on June 18, 2013.

The Weinstock award was first presented in 1970 to honor the lifetime volunteer work of the ESA co-founder and past president. Introduced by the family of Morris F. Weinstock, this award continues to recognize volunteer leadership for ESA. The award is graciously sponsored by Interlogix, ESA's exclusive Diamond Executive Strategic Partner.


Established in 1948, the Electronic Security Association (ESA) is the largest trade association representing the electronic life safety and security industry. Member companies install, integrate and monitor intrusion and fire detection, video surveillance and electronic access control systems for commercial, residential, industrial and governmental clients. In cooperation with an alliance of chapter associations, ESA provides technical and management training, government advocacy and delivers information, advice, tools, and services that members use to grow their businesses and prosper. ESA may be reached at (888) 447-1689 or on the Web at www.ESAweb.org.



Filter By Categories


Filter by Categories

astropay bozdurma